Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


American Association of University Professor
Assembly of State Conferences
Call for Nominations

In accordance with the ASC Constitution and Bylaws, the following Nominating Committee for the 2010 ASC Executive Committee elections has been appointed:
David Robinson (MO), chair; Sheila Teahan (MI), and Rob Catlett (KS).

You are invited to submit nominations to the ASC Nominating Committee for the offices of ASC Chair, Vice Chair and one Member at large of the ASC Executive Committee.

---The election of the ASC Chair shall be conducted by direct ballot and completed by April 15, 2011. 

---The election of  the Vice Chair and Member at large of the ASC Executive Committee will take place at the June 11, 2011, ASC business meeting in Washington, DC by the conference delegates to that meeting.

Nominations for all offices shall be closed at the end of business (5:00 p.m., EST) on Friday, January 23, 2011.

An eligible candidate for office whose name is recommended to the Nominating Committee by members from three or more state conferences shall be included among the nominees. Nominations for Vice Chair or Member at Large may also be made from the floor  at the annual meeting, provided nominees receive written endorsement from no fewer than three authorized delegates to the Assembly.

Please become familiar with the guidelines for ASC nominations and elections, which are found on the AAUP website, and are available there as downloadable .pdf files.  The four relevant documents are:

1. The ASC Constitution

2. The ASC Election Procedures
http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/about/asc/ (see “ASC Election Procedures”)

3. FAQ in the Election of Conference Delegates and Officers

4. AAUP and the federal LMRDA

Nominations are due January 23, 2011. However, earlier nominations are strongly encouraged. If you would like to nominate a colleague or yourself for any of the offices, send a curriculum vitae by January 23, 2011 to the Nominating Committee Chair, David Robinson at drobinso@truman.edu, and in your message use this email subject heading: ASC Nomination.

Thank you,

The 2011 ASC Nominating Committee
David Robinson (MO), chair (drobinso@truman.edu)
Sheila Teahan (MI)
Rob Catlett (KS)