Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links




Pursuant to a voluntary agreement between the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) and the U.S. Department of Labor, the Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS), OLMS is supervising new nominations and a new election for the office of Assembly of State Conferences (ASC) Chair.

Qualifications to Nominate: Any AAUP member who resides in a state with an active state conference and is current in his or her dues as of February 15, 2012 is eligible to nominate a candidate.

Qualifications for Office: Any AAUP member who resides in a state with an active state conference and is current in his or her dues as of February 15, 2012 is eligible to run for office.

Method of Making & Accepting Nominations: For this supervised election only, nominations for ASC Chair may be made by submitting in writing the name of a member to either U.S. Department of Labor, OLMS, Election Supervisor Christian Saenz or ASC Nominating Committee Chair David Robinson. Self nominations are permitted. No seconds are required. For this election only, there will not be a requirement to have at least two candidates in this race. Only the eligible members nominated by the nomination deadline will be eligible to run. If a member is nominating someone else for office, please provide the nominee’s contact information in the nomination.

Election Supervisor Christian Saenz
U.S. Department of Labor/OLMS
800 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 120
Washington, DC 20002-4244
Fax: (202) 513-7301
Email: aaupelectionsupervisor@dol.gov

ASC Nominating Committee Chair David Robinson
Email: ascchairnominations@aaup.org

Due date: Nominations must be received by 4:00 pm ET on February 21, 2012.

The OLMS Election Supervisor and ASC Nominating Committee will review all of the nominations to ensure that those nominated are eligible to run for office. The Election Supervisor will contact those that have been nominated to see if they accept the nomination.

The ASC Chair will serve the remainder of the current term of office. This term will end in June 2013.

The election will be by mail ballot. The law requires the ballots to be mailed to the last known home address of all ASC members. University addresses are not sufficient. A Post Office box is permitted. The AAUP will begin sending email messages (to an email address on file) to members who have not yet provided home addresses for the AAUP’s membership records. That email will provide further instructions on how to update your membership information. If you prefer, you can email your first name, middle initial, last name, university, email, and complete home address to aaupelectionsupervisor@dol.gov.

Updates on the election process will be available under the election issues link on the top of the AAUP website, www.aaup.org. If you have any questions, please call Election Supervisor Christian Saenz at (202) 513-7320.