Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


Know someone who has gone above and beyond?

Do you know an AAUP member whose service to the profession has been outstanding? A chapter or publication that deserves special recognition? How about an administrator or legislator who goes the extra mile for higher education? Consider making a nomination for an AAUP award.

For full guidelines and application procedures, please visit the AAUP’s award section of the website.

Awards Recognizing Administrators or Trustees

Ralph S. Brown Award for Shared Governance (deadline April 15)
Given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to shared governance, preferably during the previous year.

Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom (deadline April 15)
Given to an American college or university administrator or trustee, or to a board of trustees as a group, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to academic freedom, preferably during the preceding year.

Award Recognizing Legislators

Henry T. Yost Award (deadline March 8)
Given to a legislator for leadership on higher education issues.

Awards Recognizing Individuals, Chapters, or Conferences

Georgina M. Smith Award (deadline April 30)
Presented to an individual providing exceptional leadership in improving the status of academic women or in academic collective bargaining.

Tacey Award (deadline April 7)
Presented to an individual for outstanding service to a conference over a number of years.

Hopper Travel Fund (deadline May 1)
Chapters and conferences may nominate one of their delegates who will be attending his or her first annual meeting.

Al Sumberg Award (deadline April 7)
Presented to a person or organization that has been particularly effective in lobbying on issues furthering the interests of higher education, or in furthering such lobbying efforts on the state level.

Beatrice G. Konheim Award (deadline April 17)
Given to a chapter for “outstanding achievement in advancing the Association’s objectives in academic freedom, student rights and freedoms, the status of academic women, the elimination of discrimination against minorities, or the establishment of equal opportunity for members of college and university faculties.”

Konheim Travel Grants (deadline May 1)
Given to chapters engaged in activities advancing the Konheim Award objectives to help the chapters send delegates to the AAUP annual meeting.

Awards Recognizing Journalism and Publication

Iris Molotsky Award for Excellence in Coverage of Higher Education (deadline April 15)
Presented for outstanding interpretive reporting on higher education.

Chapter & Conference Communications Awards for newsletters and web sites (deadline April 7)
Recognize outstanding achievement by conferences and chapters in promoting organizational communications and visibility.