Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


Nominate that special someone or chapter

Dear AAUP Colleague:

Do you know an AAUP member whose service to the profession has been outstanding? A chapter or publication that deserves special recognition? How about an administrator or legislator who goes the extra mile for higher education? Consider making a nomination for an AAUP award.

For full guidelines and application procedures, please visit the award section of the AAUP website. (http://www.aaup.org/about/awards)

Awards Recognizing Administrators or Trustees

Ralph S. Brown Award for Shared Governance (deadline April 15)
Given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to shared governance, preferably during the previous year.

Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom (deadline April 15)
Given to an American college or university administrator or trustee, or to a board of trustees as a group, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to academic freedom, preferably during the preceding year.

Award Recognizing Legislators

Henry T. Yost Award (deadline March 8)
Given to a legislator for leadership on higher education issues.

Awards Recognizing Individuals, Chapters, or Conferences

Georgina M. Smith Award (deadline April 15)
Presented to an individual providing exceptional leadership in improving the status of academic women or in academic collective bargaining.

Tacey Award (deadline April 7)
Presented to an individual for outstanding service to a conference over a number of years.

Al Sumberg Award (deadline April 7)
Presented to a person or organization that has been particularly effective in lobbying on issues furthering the interests of higher education, or in furthering such lobbying efforts on the state level.

Beatrice G. Konheim Award (deadline April 17)
Given to a chapter for outstanding achievement in advancing the Association’s objectives in academic freedom, student rights and freedoms, the status of academic women, the elimination of discrimination against minorities, or the establishment of equal opportunity for members of college and university faculties.

Konheim Travel Grants (deadline May 1) Given to chapters engaged in activities advancing the Konheim Award objectives to help the chapters send delegates to the AAUP annual meeting.

Awards Recognizing Journalism and Publication

Iris Molotsky Award for Excellence in Coverage of Higher Education (deadline April 15)
Presented for outstanding interpretive reporting on higher education.

Chapter & Conference Communications Awards for newsletters and websites (deadline April 7)
Recognizes outstanding achievement by conferences and chapters in promoting organizational communications and visibility.

Cosponsored Award

U.S. Professors of the Year (deadline April 15)

The AAUP is proud to be a cosponsor of the U.S. Professors of the Year award (http://www.usprofessorsoftheyear.org/), which honors outstanding undergraduate instructors—those who excel in teaching and positively influence the lives and careers of students. Sponsored by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the awards focus attention on excellence in undergraduate teaching and provide models to which others can aspire.