Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


ASC Awards

Good Afternoon, State Conference Officer,

This is a reminder that the deadline for submitting nominations and documentation for the Tacey, Sumberg, and Communications Awards is April 7, and May 1 for the Hopper award. The names and brief descriptions are listed below.

The Al Sumberg Award is presented to a person or organization that has been particularly effective in lobbying on issues furthering the interests of higher education or in furthering such lobbying efforts on the state level.

The Tacey Award is presented to an individual for outstanding service to a conference over a number of years.

Guidelines for these and other awards may be found at http://www.aaup.org/about/awards/chapters-and-conferences

The Print and Electronic Communications Awards are presented to chapters and conference with outstanding newsletters and web pages. Awards are given for:

  • Outstanding Tabloid Style Conference Newsletter
  • Outstanding Conventional Style Conference Newsletter
  • Outstand Chapter Newsletters
  • Outstanding Conference Web Page
  • Outstanding Chapter Web Page
Guidelines for the Print and Electronic Communications Awards may be found at http://www.aaup.org/about/awards/chapters-and-conferences

The Hopper Travel Award is given to individuals attending their first annual meeting. Chapters and conferences may nominate one of their delegates who will be attending their first annual meeting.See http://www.aaup.org/about/awards/chapters-and-conferences.

Nominations and supporting documents for the Al Sumberg, Tacey, and Communications Awards should be forwarded to Donna L. Potts, chair of the ASC, by April 7, and for the Hopper Travel Award by May 1, via email: donnal.potts@gmail.com, or by mail: Donna L. Potts, Department of English, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, 66503.

All the best,

Donna L. Potts
Chair, Assembly of State Conferences
American Association of University Professors
Department of English
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506