Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


Historic IL AAUP Stationary Found

Ken Anderson came across some IL AAUP stationary which identifies some past participants and officers and wrote:

Scott Bennett, librarian at U of I Urbana Champaign was a president of the state conference. We had a full-time executive director named Charles Zucker. Our official office was at the University Y building.

I think Martha Friedman, U of I, was also conference president at one time. Martha served a term as National President and for a time Acting (or Interim) General Secretary. Vic Stone served as did Cary Nelson. The first two served when a term was a single two years. Cary served 3 two year terms for a total of six years as you know.

I served as conference president 1984-86, 1986-88 and 1988-91.