Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


Nominate that Special Someone

Dear Colleague,

Do you know an AAUP member whose service to the profession has been outstanding? A chapter or publication that deserves special recognition? How about an administrator or legislator who goes the extra mile for higher education? Consider making a nomination for an AAUP award.

For full guidelines and application procedures, please visit the award section of the AAUP website. (http://www.aaup.org/about/awards)

Awards Recognizing Administrators or Trustees

Ralph S. Brown Award for Shared Governance (deadline April 15) Given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to shared governance, preferably during the previous year.

Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom (deadline April 15) Given to an American college or university administrator or trustee, or to a board of trustees as a group, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to academic freedom, preferably during the preceding year.

Awards Recognizing Individuals, Chapters, or Conferences

Georgina M. Smith Award (deadline April 15) Presented to an individual providing exceptional leadership in improving the status of academic women or in academic collective bargaining.

Tacey Award (deadline April 15) Presented to an individual for outstanding service to a conference over a number of years.

Al Sumberg Award (deadline April 15) Presented to a person or organization that has been particularly effective in lobbying on issues furthering the interests of higher education, or in furthering such lobbying efforts on the state level.

Beatrice G. Konheim Award (deadline April 15) Given to a chapter for outstanding achievement in advancing the Association’s objectives in academic freedom, student rights and freedoms, the status of academic women, the elimination of discrimination against minorities, or the establishment of equal opportunity for members of college and university faculties.

Award Recognizing Legislators

Henry T. Yost Congressional Recognition Award (Deadline March 8) Given to a member of the United States House of Representatives or Senate in recognition of outstanding leadership in higher education, preferably during, but not limited to, the previous year.

Awards Recognizing Journalism and Publication

Iris Molotsky Award for Excellence in Coverage of Higher Education (deadline April 15) Presented for outstanding interpretive reporting on higher education.

Martin D. Snyder Award for Excellence in Student Coverage of Higher Education (deadline April 15) Recognizes excellence in reporting by student newspapers.