Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


ASC Nominating Committee Final Report

Dear Colleague,

The Nominating Committee of the Assembly of State Conferences has issued its final report for the 2015 election.

The members of the Nominating Committee are Martin Kich (Wright State University), chair; Angela Brommel (Nevada State College); and Tina Kelleher (Towson University).

In 2015, three ASC executive committee seats are up for election. The seats include Chair, Vice-Chair, and one At Large Member. The election of the office of Chair of the ASC will be conducted by mail ballot in conjunction with AAUP Council elections. Nominations for the position of Chair have now closed. The Vice-Chair and At Large Member seats will be elected by delegates to the June 12 ASC meeting in Washington, DC. Nominations for these positions may also be made from the floor of the June ASC meeting provided nominees receive written endorsement from no fewer than three authorized delegates to the Assembly.

Learn more about the 2015 ASC Executive Committee elections and to read the Nominating Committee’s final report at http://www.aaup.org/about/elected-leaders/assembly-state-conferences/asc-election-information/2015-asc-executive.

Based on nominations received by the nominating committee, the list of candidates is as follows:

  • Chair: Angela Adkins (Stark State College); Joerg Tiede (Illinois Wesleyan University)
  • Vice-Chair: David Robinson (Truman State College); Brian Turner (Randolph-Macon College)
  • At Large Member: Irene Mulvey (Fairfield University); David Nalbone (Purdue University-Calumet); Jennifer Reed (University of Nevada-Las Vegas); Lynn Tatum (Baylor University)
Election of ASC Officers

The election for the office of Chair of the ASC will be conducted by mail ballot in conjunction with AAUP Council elections. A notice of election with all nominees for the office of Chair shall be sent to AAUP members resident in states that have active State Conferences. Additional information regarding this election is available on the webpage for the AAUP Elections.

The elections for the offices of Vice Chair and At Large Member will take place at the ASC annual meeting on the June 12, 2015, in Washington, DC. The Vice Chair and Member At Large shall be elected by a majority vote of delegates present and voting at the time of the casting of ballots. If there is no majority for an office after an initial balloting, the voting shall take place immediately again. No candidates shall be dropped from the voting unless they withdraw voluntarily.