Home | IL Academe | About IL AAUP | Conference Corner | Calendar | Services | Committees | Contact Us | Grants | Reports | Links


Report from the Nominating Committee

Nominated to be re-elected to a two-year term: Joerg Tiede ,Illinois Wesleyan University; Lee Maltby, St. Augustine; Dan Tomal, Concordia University; Diana Vallera, Columbia College; Matthew Abraham, DePaul University; Leo Welch, Southwestern Illinois College. To elect for the first time to a two-year term: Linda Brookhart, Illinois Annuitants Group, Springfield; Alan Iliff, North Park University; and Jane Jegerski, Elmhurst College. Nominated to be elected secretary for a two-year term, Lee Maltby, St. Augustine. Nominated to be elected treasurer for a two-year term, Alan Iliff, North Park University. Nominations may also be made by petition signed by at least fifteen (15) members of the Conference, counting no more than five (5) from any one chapter. Nominations by petition must be received by the President, Michael Harkins (mharkbhs@att.net) by April 1, 2013.

The Illinois Conference of the AAUP Delegate Nomination Notice Qualifications to Nominate: Any AAUP member in Illinois who is current in his or her dues as of February 1, 2013, is a member in good standing and eligible to nominate members. Qualifications for Delegate: Any AAUP member in Illinois who is current in his or her dues by February 1, 2013, as certified by National to the Illinois Conference is eligible to run as a delegate or alternate.

Self nominations are permitted. No seconds are required.

The Illinois Conference of the AAUP seeks nominations from members in good standing to run as delegates and alternates to the Assembly of State Conferences (ASC) and the Annual Conference of the AAUP. These meetings are very important as they help to determine the priorities and future direction of the AAUP.

The Illinois Conference is entitled to send four (4) delegates to the ASC meeting, one of which is the President by virtue of the office. The election is to determine the remaining three (3) delegates to the ASC meeting scheduled June 14, 2013, and two (2) delegates to the Annual Conference scheduled June 15, 2013. Individuals may run for both delegate positions.

Two (2) alternate delegates for the ASC and one (1) alternate delegate for the Annual Conference will also be elected. Alternates will attend only if elected delegates are unable to participate. The Illinois Conference has some funding to defray the cost of attending. Elected delegates that attend the ASC meetings, the Annual Meeting, and file a written report summarizing the issues discussed at the sessions by July 12, 2013 will be eligible for reimbursement of registration fee, travel expenses, and lodging not to exceed $600.00. The report must be sent to the Conference President. Receipts must be submitted to the Conference Treasurer no later than 30 days after the meeting. All nominations must be received by midnight March 31, 2013. Nominations should be sent by mail to the Secretary of the Illinois Conference of the AAUP, care of Lee Maltby at St. Augustine College, 1345 W. Argyle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60640 or e-mailed to lmaltby@staugustine.edu.

The election will take place by mail in April or May 2013. Please provide the nominee’s contact information in the nomination. The Illinois Conference will contact those who have been nominated to verify their acceptance of the nomination. Election results will be sent to all members via e-mail by the end of May, 2013.